Joint Transport Committee


View Calendar of Meetings and Committee Papers


The North East Joint Transport Committee was established by The Newcastle Upon Tyne, North Tyneside and Northumberland Combined Authority (Establishment and Functions) Order 2018 (the Order).

It brings together the two Combined Authorities of the region, the North East Combined Authority and the North of Tyne Combined Authority, to exercise certain functions in accordance with the Order.

Transport is of strategic importance to the North East, and the collaborative working of both Combined Authorities allows effective decision-making across the region, which ensures that the local needs and priorities are delivered.



Councillor Martin Gannon, (Chair), Leader of Gateshead Council

Norma Redfearn CBE, Elected Mayor of North Tyneside

Councillor Nick Forbes, Leader of Newcastle City Council

Councillor Carl Marshall, Cabinet Member Economic Regeneration, Durham County Council

Councillor Peter Jackson, Leader of Northumberland County Council

Councillor Iain Malcolm, Leader of South Tyneside Council

Councillor Graeme Miller, Leader of Sunderland City Council

Substitutes Members

Councillor Catherine Donovan, Deputy Leader, Gateshead Council

Councillor Joyce McCarty, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Housing

Councillor Carl Johnson, Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport

Councillor Simon Henig, Leader Durham County Council

Councillor Wayne Daley, Deputy Leader Northumberland County Council

Councillor Mark Walsh, Cabinet Member for Housing and Transport, South Tyneside Council

Councillor Michael Mordey, Deputy Leader Sunderland City Council